As people rely more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteroriate.

As technology continues to proliferate at increased rates and influences every aspect of life, it becomes extremely important to recognize our over-reliance on the innovations that make our lives easier. Information and the ability to learn new skills is readily available, people often forget the critical step of learning, which is the very act of obtaining information. Where technology makes that aspect of education and information gathering easier, it also begins to deteriorate our ability to retain information, as well as reduce our willingness to test our opinions against opposing viewpoints.

Technologies, such as smartphones and laptops, make information readily available to us. We can find something as simple as a recipe for pasta to try out on a single night. Or we can investigate a tough problem in particle physics with the collaboration and support of scientists around the world. But one of the primary issues with information at our fingertips is the lack of retention. Studies show that people retain less information if they rely heavily on search engines and other information sources on the internet. The primary issue stems from the intermediary steps of solving a problem or getting to that "eureka!" moment. An example of a lack of retention is often seen when working with cars. For any novice having car troubles, such as jump-starting a dead battery, Googling "how to jump-start my car" will get an answer immediately to the person in need. But for instance, if this person encounters the same situation again, but this time is unable to get signal and find the solution, he or she may not be able to reproduce the same steps to effectively (and safely) revive his or her vehicle. This is an ineffective way to learn a new skill or understand a process, as it forces a person to have to relearn over and over again.

In addition to memory retention, technology in the form of social media has done tremendous good in uniting people around the world. However, sociopolitical studies show that these virtual meeting rooms prevent people from being exposed to opposing opinions and learning from others with varied experiences. Social scientists call these online forums "echo chambers," where person A will reveal their viewpoint and only gather the same opinions from person B and person C, all while excluding person D from discussing their alternative view and learning from each other. These are colloquially called "bubbles," and often when they burst, horrific arguments erupt. In this regard, technology has started to segregate people more than unite.

Though these points show the opposite effect of technology's influence on people, having more innovative products and protocols in the way we conduct ourselves inherently means we're a more progressive and thoughtful society. To really harness technology's benefits, people must be tech-savvy. More children are learning to program and engineer their own solutions more than any other generation, and this will only continue to boost creative and progressive thinking.

To conclude, it's important to understand that technology solves problems but also creates them. These products and processes are more nuanced than we initially believed, especially in the areas of memory retention and social discourse. But it would be a true detriment to write off the many benefits of technology. Now, it's a matter of teaching people to properly balance their consumption and use of technologies in order to live a more balanced and wholesome life.