"The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that

it has become a more important form of documentation than written records."

history of individuals or a country is important because later generations can study it to understand the cornerstones of their society. Nowadays there are two forms of recording important documents. some people believe that written documents which have been prevalent throughout history are still the most accurate means of recording. However, proponents to this idea who are attracted toward using new technology advancements tell that people, politicians and historians should equip themselves with video cameras in order to record events. Although we cannot overlook the role of videos and the significance of it, I believe that written records are still the most accurate and convincing way of recording.

Firstly, when people want to study history, they need to understand the references of a claim. In a documentary movie or recorded film of an event the referencing is quite hard. Director of the movie should focus on a piece of paper in order to strengthen his or her claim. However, the author of a written documentary is able to refer his allegation by using just one sentence. Moreover, a written document contains more information than movies. For example, the reader can understand the number of people signing it, the date of the event, etc.

Secondly, recording every single event is not only an arduous and time-consuming task but also expensive. Despite the prevalence of having the smartphone, some events happen in the blink of an eye and the person is not able to show an immediate reaction in order to record the event by his smartphone. Furthermore, it is needed to spend a considerable amount of time to extract an important thing from a recorded video. Take a senate meeting as an example. The senators argue together to introduce a new rule and the final result is a piece of paper regarding effects and details of the rule. All the 8 hours meeting's result is concluded in that paper. If someone to understand the rule, he should spend 8 hours to watch the long and mundane film.

In conclusion, I believe that written documents play a pivotal role in recording historical events.