The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

According to the statement given, the speaker asserts that it would be the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industries and various other fields by instilling a sense of cooperation in them instead of competition. I would, however, not completely agree with this statement, since I believe that a person should equally have a sense of competition along with cooperation.

Every major field and task, most of the time requires a group of people to work together and not individual people. Since, a person has to work and sustain in a community, the person should have a good sense of cooperation. Those people who do not have this sense are not able to successfully sustain in the environment and along with that they also decrease the total productivity of the group of people they are working with. Sometimes, it also happens that to perform a task, a person needs to work with new people. Therefor the person should be able to adapt with every case and for that should have a good sense of cooperation.

But, along with that, a person also equally requires a good sense of competition. There are at a time many people/groups that do a particular type of work, and there is always a competition among them, to acquire larger market and gain maximum profit or to serve maximum number of people. So, in order to sustain successfully in a market, a leader should always know what new things are coming up in the market and how well their competitiors are doing. If a person do not have a competitive sense, then the competitiors usually get a higher chance of success. Also, having a competition encourages growth, since the competitiors try to serve their users in the best possible way.

If a person does not have a cooperative sense, the person is not able to perform in and aong with the group and if the person does not have a good sense of competition, the person's team do not have a good hold of their market of consumers and are generally slow in growing up with new innovations and ideas. Therefore, it is absolutely necessary for a person to have both - sense of cooperation and sense of competition.

Competitions where people compete in a groups are a good source of instilling both thypes of senses. Since, a person along with coordinating with the group members also plays an important part to get maximum success for the whole group. Group leaders also get a good experience of how to handle different circumstances and manage their team and resources. So, these kinds of activities and competitions should be promoted in schools and colleges so that a person can learn these senses well from a young age.

Thus, in conclusion I would say that a person should have a good sense of cooperation along with a good sense of competition.