Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Cafe, a small, local coffee shop .in the downtown area of a small American city: "We must reduce overhead here at the cafe. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won't be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs."

Recently, the owner of Juniper Café, a small local coffee shop in a small American city, stated through a memorandum, that they must reduce overhead costs to save money. The owner has also provided various ways in which reducing overhead time would reduce costs, to support their statement. However, there are many unanswered assumptions, lack of evidence and vague terminologies in this argument.

Firstly, the owner believes that reducing work hours would save them various kinds of operational costs like employee wages, utility bills, etc. However, it is also possible that most of the customers come during the time which the owner was planning to cut out. The owner also mentioned cutting out work hours on weekends, but, it is possible that most people would come to the café on weekends. Cutting down the work hours at such a time could although reduce costs, but, could also reduce revenue significantly.

Secondly, the owner doesn’t wish to eliminate jobs. It can be a possibility that the number of employees working in the café are more than required and removing some employees instead of reducing the working hours could save more money.

Thirdly, the owner assumes that the number of customers would always remain constant in their café. It is possible that because of an upcoming public attraction or festival, the number of customers visiting the café may increase. This could totally eliminate the need to reduce working hour or to eliminate jobs of current employees.

Instead of reducing overhead, the owner may do surveys, or take feedbacks from customers, so as to find out the reason for less sale. The owner could also try out some different things which could attract customers to the café like karaoke or open mic. The owner could also increase the number of items in their menu or offer special discounts or offers to their customers. Doing such things could help the owner to find out ways to increase sales and therefore increase revenue and save more money.

Therefore, in conclusion, it is possible that reducing the overhead time may at the end not be ‘the best’ alternative to have more profit, as the owner believes. There are various faults in this argument, and the owner should work upon these facts and do some studies which may make their argument more convincing.