The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Is the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling a sense of cooperation rather than competition? The speaker here believes so. I agree with the speaker's assertion to some extent, however, I also believe that a sense of competition is also equally necessary.

A really good example that can be considered here, is, a team of students working together for a project in their college. These people work in cooperation with each other and when they come up with their final product, it is much better than what any one person individually could have made in the given circumstances. If the same people would have had competition with each other, they might not have helped each other to do something better. Instead they would have focused on ways which would benefit themselves more. Such an attitude can never help an a team to thrive.

By cooperating with each other, people tend to understand each other in a much better way. They learn to respect each other and they also learn to respect each other's views. Also, an added advantage of cooperation could be that since everyone works in accord with each other, they tend to improve each other's performance. For example, consider a group of board members of a company, who want to take some critical decision. These people would have their own views, which obviously could have some faults. Since, these people work together, they would correct each other's faults and guide each other to do domething better. If these people would have been in competition, they would have not helped each other out and would have instead pointed out each other's mistakes in a way that would have caused a loss to one another.

Someone might say that because of competition, people try to overdo each other and try to come up with something better than their competitiors, and, in this way work more efficiently. This is true however there are some negative consequences of competition for example use of wrong methods to achieve better than the other or do something so that the performance of the competitor degrades. These kind of mal-practices happen in every place, where there is a competition, thus making the competion unhealthy and unfair. However, in cooperation, there are no derogatory consequences.

In conclusion, I would like to reassert my opinion that cooperation is a better way to prepare our young people for leadership, and, it is more important than competition. However, a sense of cooperation is also required.