The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University.

"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of professors."

The author concludes that, student evalutions of professors should be terminated, as graduates are not getting better jobs. The author line of reasoning is due to student evalution process, professors are giving more marks to students, thus grades do not accurately reflect achievements of the students. thus, graduates are getting less job as compared to the nearby alpa university. The argument is unconvincing for several reason and seems flawed.

Firstly, The author fails to give any statistical data for the comparision of both the univerisites before and after implementing the student evalution procedure. this evidence could have made the argument more lucid tothe differences. Since, there are no such data we cannot conclude that securing better jobs has declined as compared to alpa university, it might be case that alpha university has always been a high reputed college and has no comparision to teh Omega university.

Secondly, author states that fifteen years back the rule was implemented, and there was rise of average of grades by 30 percentage. even if we consider this as correct, this could be the scenario for first year and this happening consistency every year sice last fifteen year seem highly doubtful. there might be many other cases because of which average grades would have raised . For example, may be after the student evaluation procedure, new good and better teachers were hired or may be after the new rule, the reputation of the unversity increased and good students started joining the unversity, etc. this author fails to provide associate other possibility of average mark increasing.

Lastly, the author claims that by terminating the student evalution of professor would help students to secure better job. but the relation is not clear, may be by removing the new rule, students average score might reduce but how will this help students to get better job. The corelation is dubious and flawed. The author should provide evidence to support his claim.

In sum, even though it might seem possible that because of "student evalutions of professor" procedure the average score of the university might have increased, but claim of students are not hired because of increase average score with respect to alpha university, seems flawed and author should provide more statistical data as evidence to support his argument.