Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that, the woven baskets are not endemic to prehistoric village of palea based on the recent discovery of such a basket, in the across river village lithos. he states that since the brim river was deep and broad, crossing river was not possible without boats. since no boat were found in the palea, the author concludes that baskets were not native to the palean. However there are several flaws in the argument.

Firstly, the author mention the about the distinctive pattern of the basket but fails to explain these pattern and compare it with the pattern of the basket found in lithos. For instance, he could have explained about the design, colour, size or any of such particular features of the basket. hence, the argument would have been d more convincing if the feature of the baskets were proven to be similar.

Secondly, the author claims that brim river is very deep and board. but author does not explain about river condition in the ancient time. it might be possible that river became broad and deep later in the time. if the river was shallow in ancient then it would have been possible for the palean’s to cross the river. hence, the argument would strengthen if the river condition in the past is specified.

Finally, the argument states that no sign of boats were discovered in palean, so it was not possible for the palean to cross the river. By this argument the author neglects the possibility of crossing the river by any other mode of transport like small basket boat or small log boats which would have enabled ancients to cross the river and banter the things. Therefore, the author should explain it further why other modes of transport were also not possible in order to make his clam more cogent.

In recapitulation, without the further explanation the argument made by the author looks faulty and less persuasive. In order to make the argument strong author should illustrate the details of the points made by him.