Sometimes imaginations is a more valuable asset than experience. People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible and thus can approach a task without constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Is imagination more valuable than experience? The speaker’s answer is yes, because the speaker claims that people lacked of experience are not restricted by specific attitudes and thoughts. However, I’m suspicious to the validity of assertion in many situations. Although it may be true that the laypeople sometimes are free from restriction and thus coming up with innovative ideas, it is unjustifiable to say they are more valuable than experts.

Admittedly, sometimes a beginner or a lay person provides more imaginative thoughts. They are bold and revolutionary because they are less constrained by the rules or biases than professionals. This happened frequently in the field of art, that the works are based on creative and innovation. A song writer can integrate different elements into their pieces and produce refreshing songs and win popularity of public; a new-graduate painter can carve out a new style with their innovative though that break the old stereotype of art.

On the other hand, the ideas of laypeople usually have meager of deliberation, largely depend on one’s quixotic and fantasy thought and thus easier to fail. Considering that a novice who intend to run a restaurant. He or she may conjure up many romantic ideas, such as decorating the space with beautiful ornaments, or providing customers with spacious area so that they can have an agreeable environment to enjoy their meal. However, these proposal may be unrealistic: luxury decoration can be costly, spacious place means fewer customers can be served at one time. This way to run the restaurant is contradict to the goal of a business: making money. And thus, without deliberate on these aspects of running a business, the restaurants may be closed due to the financial pressure.

Furthermore, in the fields which entail professional foundation, experienced people are much more valuable than outsiders. Today many fields are based on sophisticated knowledge accumulated from the constant effort of people, an outsider is hard to contribute a constructive suggestion or idea to it. This especially important in the realm of science, the theories among science are interconnected, to make a break through in the field needs one to master it. For example, to advance in semiconductor process, we need to know the knowledge of quantum mechanics, semiconductor physics, and electronic engineering. An arbitrary suggestion in this field may overtly contradict to one of the theory and turn out to be unachievable. Therefore, in these areas well-trained staff are more valuable than others.

In sum, people who are free from restriction sometimes have more creativity and boldness to break the stereotype. However, in most of situations, experienced people have more vantage that they know the details and rules that makes their ideas more accessible and achievable.