The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

As stated by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company, to increase the viewership of the Super Screen-produced movies, Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. The director states basis the evidence that in spite of fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies a past year than in any other year, the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers actually increased past year. To evaluate the argument, one needs to ask the two questions.

First, are the prospective viewer's reviews also increased in the past year? One needs to ask this question before jumping to evaluate the argument. There can be cases when movie reviewers review the movie positively and despite that, the movie doesn't get a good response when it hit the theatres. The movie reviewer's angle of perception to evaluate the movie might be different from the general public. There can also be the biasness when movie reviews provide the reviews. Hence, relying on positive reviews by movie reviewers can't guarantee the quality or the content of the movie.

Secondly, are other production house movies also getting less response? Are people not aware of the good qualities of movies available in the market? One should find out before making the statement that people are not aware of the good quality movies available. For instance, if another production house movie is getting a good response and people are going to watch those movies, then there must be something wrong with Super Screen movies - that might be content, quality, or something else. If overall viewership in the area across all production house movies has been increased and the percentage share of the super screen movies is decreasing, then there must be some issue with production house movies. If the viewership is due to the content or quality of the movies produced by the super screen production house, even investing money on advertising won't be of much help.

Concludingly, if these questions can be answered, one would be able to evaluate the argument. Otherwise, the statement made by advertising director remains flawed.