the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader is the one who considers people as their's and people follow him/her due to his cooperating skills. To be a leader in any field, one needs to be taking people in their favor by gaining the confidence and support of the people. The prompt recommends that to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields, society must be encouraging the younger individuals the sense of cooperation, not competition. I strongly agree with the prompt suggested basis of two reasons.

To begin with, a younger age is the time period of an individual when the habits or skills acquired at that time, become peculiar to an individual. It's the age when things can be molded and can be taught how you want it to be. Leadership is the quality of an individual which can be developed by teaching the individuals the importance of cooperation. Everyone looks for the leader who listens to them and takes care of them. He/she might not be the great warrior or great intellectual, but people want to see their leader as he/she is someone who will be there when they would need any help or any sort of favor. For instance, if a leader is not cooperative, people would be hesitant to trust him when they would be in need of anything and that would ultimately lose confidence in his leadership qualities. A true leader is one who knows how to keep up to the expectations of their people and be always available to cooperate when required. Society should be encouraging this thought in young individuals from childhood only so that they acquire the true leadership skills.

Furthermore, it's the competition that kills even the other qualities of a leader. Competition brings the superiorness among the individuals and individual can't be a leader if he/she has a sense of competition. A leader can't be the one who tries to compete with their people, instead, he/she should be having the cooperating nature. For example, if anyone wants to be the public representative of any govt., he must have to gain the trust of the people and that can come only if he has that friendliness nature and helping nature. Govt. should be including the programs focusing on leadership skills in the school curriculum to nurture leadership skills in young individuals.

However, one can argue that competitive sense in young individuals brings them to do their best than others. But he/she ultimately loses the trust of the people when there is any competitive thinking arises. Basis of these reasons, society can help prepare its young individuals for leadership in any field by instilling a sense of cooperation, and not competition.