In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports swimming boating and fishing among their favorite recreational activities The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits however and the city park department devotes little of i

Author states that devoting more money by city government to increase riverside recreational facilities will increase the use of river for recreational activities. The argument made by author is based on the evidence regarding complaint from residents about poor quality water & river’s smell and the survey results of water sports to be the favorite recreational activities among city residents. The argument is flawed due to not sufficient evidence provided to justify the argument, which I will be discussing in detail in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, assumption about the favorite sports being the one which residents actually play is a bit of concern. It might be possible that city residents are not actively involved in the sports and they are just fascinated with the sport (looking at it from outside), but not playing it. I believe author should provide evidence regarding the residents’ sports inclination to play the sports will help in evaluating the argument.

Secondly, the unstated assumption of cleaning up the river will increase the use of water sports in the city is flawed. It might be possible that the river’s high current flow is not suitable for water sports activities and might lead to unfortunate accidents. To justify this evidence, we must look it from the broader perspective, collecting information about the kind of river flow required for water sports, infrastructure and the training professionals to train the residents, which might lead to increase the use of river for water sports.

Thirdly, there is no mention about the age profile of the city residents in the argument provided by author. There might the possibility that the population of old age people in on the higher side in the city and mid aged students/people might be having free time due to hectic study/work schedule. Author must find the information about the lifestyle of the city residents and what they really like during their leisure time. If the above information is provided, the argument can be evaluated properly with highlighting the hidden assumptions.

Concluding my analysis, I find the author’s argument flawed due to not sufficient evidences are not provided to justify the statement. If the required evidences (highlighted in above three paragraphs) are provided along with other required information also (in a systematic manner), the argument can be evaluated properly.