The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States. Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

The increased use of social media has served both as a boon and as a bane. Many people use it to gain popularity among the masses and to earn money by illegitimate means. The increased use of blogs to express one’s opinions has definitely decreased the quality of political discourse in United States.

Firstly, there are no restrictions as to who can start writing his/her own blog. Ranging from children to elders, dilettantes to experienced, anybody can use the power of social media to express his/her own views. It is quite obvious that the content showcased by someone who has little knowledge of the subject will not plumb the issue adequately. There have been many examples where people have got misled and ultimately formed false opinions about someone or something.

Furthermore, anybody who has greater popularity or number of followers will definitely have an added advantage. Many people become partisans considering the more popular ones as always accurate. The most common examples to consider are the celebrities whom many people follow blindly. Now a political opinion by someone like XYZ will be greatly acknowledged and supported by his huge number of followers without delving on the depth. Thus quality is greatly compromised.

Finally, one more noteworthy practice taking place lately is the spread of fake news. Many people out of sheer greed for popularity, enimity, even for fun or any other unacceptable reason have started spreading fake news on social media platforms like Whats App, Facebook, etc. Considering the huge percentage of our population using these platforms, this act definitely proves advantageous to such writers. For example, there was a recent spread of a news which held two men belonging to a political party responsible for raping a teenager. Just because of the spread of this fake news, they were surrounded by a mob of some agitated youth and were beaten badly. Now definitely there are people who trust only established news channels or other legitimate sources. The social media does not affect some percentage of our population. But many of them too ultimately start losing faith considering the fact that many such sources too are venal.

Thus quality is definitely compromised with increased number of people using social media to express poilitcal opinions.