In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

There must always be a limit on the duration of office that a person holds. This is true for most of the scenarios we encounter these days, including but not limited to politics, government offices and business. As it is said that with power, comes greed, so a person who stays in a position for long will tend to find loopholes in the system and ways to exploit them for his own benefit. Also following this strategy gives chance to others and this prevents from accumulation of power in one hand.

A person who is new to a position will learn how to handle the work that the position requires. For example, the American presidential terms are the best example for this. Since no president can be elected more than twice, he is never able to misuse his powers. Now, if there’s some president who has been elected a few days back, he can, in the first part of his tenure try to make a good reputation among the people who’ve chosen him. With the passage of time, when he learns that there are funds that are left for miscellaneous tasks, which he may use them for his own benefit since he is answerable to none for the miscellaneous funds.

Furthermore, there can be people with more potential than that of the former. If someone stays in the position for long, the people who are more deserving will not get a chance to attain that position. This is of course detrimental since the person after a point of time, will lose interest in the job and not work to his fullest. Young enthusiasm is always a great idea for jobs like mentioned above.

As discussed above, it is always a good idea to keep the people in power changing since it doesn’t make them misuse their authority and also, it allows new talent to keep emerging.