The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument stated by the author is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, this argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the only reason behind the increase in the number of accidents is the increased number of mopeds.

Firstly, Seaville’s success cannot be attributed alone to the decreased number of mopeds. For example, it might be possible that the people of Seaville were educated more on traffic rules and safer driving practices during that time which lead to reduced number of accidents. In addition to this, strict traffic laws might have been enforced thus taxing the people who violated them badly. Reducing the number of mopeds is not the primary reason behind the reduction in road accidents. Had the author clearly mentioned the reasons behind reduced road accidents in Seaville, the argument would have been at a better position.

Moreover, Seaville and Balmer are two separate islands. There is no guarantee that same laws enforced in both the places will ensure alike results. It might be possible that people of Balmer are rash drivers by nature and therefore, such policies won’t have much effect on them. Had the author mentioned that people of Seaville and Bogota are similar, the conclusion stated would have been more satisfactory.

In addition, reducing the number of mopeds rented per day to half will not reduce accidents by exact 50%. These figures are fallacious. For example, in the earlier case when 50 mopeds were rented per day, suppose there were an average of 20 accidents per day. Now when 25 mopeds are rented per day, the average number of accidents per day could be anything, less than, equal to, or greater than 20. Thus, there is no strong evidence which can lead to the conclusion that accidents will get reduced by 50%.

Lastly, the language used is not clear and definite. The author does not mention the exact number of people who make use of mopeds for transportation in Balmer. It is described as a ‘popular’ means of transport. This does not guarantee that increased population will lead to a proportionate increase in the demand of mopeds and consequently increased number of accidents.

Thus, all the points mentioned above clearly indicate the loose ends left by the author in the discussion.