The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

For a society to prepare its next generation for higher and official posts, it is indeed important to instill a sense of cooperation among them. But what infact, is more important is to create a sense of competition among them. Hence, disagreeing with the claim, it is evident to say that if a position is available for anyone, no one will actually work hard for that position, while if it is a valued position, even those who have one in a million chance, will give it a shot. Also the person keeps on doing better when he knows his position is too ephemeral to put into words.

Now, if there is a sense of competition, the person will automatically understand that the position is of a huge responsibility and it will be a humongous mistake to not work up to what people expect. Let us take the finest self evident example, that a person who runs for a position, which is higher in the political hierarchy, knows that with huge power comes huge responsibility. And hence, the person will be competitive, always having an edge over his counterparts, doing as better as he can, for the people.

Furthermore, on a position that requires leadership, a person who has risen upto a higher level of his/her job will know the hurdles that he has faced in attaining the position. So, there will always be a fear of losing his position because he will know that there's a person somewhere, which has been working even more harder than the former, that obviously comes from a sense of competition. And this in turn will push the former person to do much better than what he actually can. For example, a manager who is known to be more efficient, eventually leading to more sales for some firm will have higher chances of promotion than others who are his rivals. This will create a sense of fear in the former person; a fear of others being able to match his ability, and hence the person will push his limits and do even better than he can.

So, for a society to have its young people, to turn into a more fruitful leader, it requires them to be competant over cooperative. As mentioned, it creates a sense of competition and in turn creates a value for the position, and also, a fear of losing the position.