Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments should definitely target the present problems rather than keep preparing for the problems which may arise in the future. There are many reasons behind this. Mainly, small problems of today can turn into huge problems of tomorrow. Moreover, to keep citizens of a country happy and satisfied, it is necessary to focus on even the smallest of ongoing problems.

Firstly, it is easy to tackle a problem when it is in inchoate stage. A problem ignored can grow like a behemoth. It can even lead to problems of many other kinds. So, obviously it will become too tough to tackle it at a later stage. For example, people in Tamil Nadu started complaining about increased water cuts. Had the government considered it a need of the hour, the present day situation where groundwater there has almost finished, would not have reached. There was another case in which many children died recently in Muzzafarpur. Had the government considered it as a pressing issue and provided more support for the medical facilities in the area, the fate of the children would have been altered positively.

Furthermore, government’s actions of ignoring the ongoing problems will definitely lead to unrest in the country. If the problems of citizens are not being solved within a stipulated amount of time, they will definitely resort to violent means like holding protests and demonstrations. The citizens will not understand the pleas of the government supporting far-sighted approach. Like in India, it has actually become a common sight these days people holding protests against the government’s inability to cut down the number of rape cases in the country. Obviously no one will think about the fact that government is focusing on global warming which will show deleterious effects after 30 years or so.

Lastly, such an action will prove harmful to the government in that it won’t be re-elected in the proceeding term. On the contrary, preparing for the future can prove even beneficial at later stages. For example, the government can devise plans to find out alternate renewable sources of energy to make up for the vanished coal in near future. But the present problems like water paucity in many areas need to be solved first. There is no point in ignoring the abysmal present while working for a benign future.

All the points stated above clearly underscore the fact that present problems should be given cardinal importance over problems of future. If the government wants a peaceful country where everything runs smoothly, it has to resort to solving immediate problems in the country.