The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government,industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader, be it of a country or an industry, has to create conditions conducive to growth. A leader's success is measured more by his team's happiness and prosperity. Thus, in order to become successful leaders, people should focus more on cooperation rather than competetion.

Firstly, the very essence of a successful leader lies in his ability to manage people under him effectively. Thus qualities like cooperation and team-spirit are must for a leader. He has to effectively understand the views and feelings of all his team members. For example, consider the case of a manager of a company who has worked hard to reach the pinnacle. But he prefers to keep distance with his employees and does not indulge them in a conversation about new ideas or projects. Obviously, the company won't grow if the employees are not given freedom to grow. There may be frequent clashes or disputes between the manager and the employees or even the between the employees themselves.Also effective leaders of a country are those who understand and solve the problems of the citizens.

Furthermore, if a person is brought up with a mindset of competing against everyone else around, he may defintiely reach a good position like that of a leader, but not a successful one. He will always want more and more. He won't give his best in his present position but instead will focus more on promotion.

Finally, one who does not know bow to cooperate, will never be able to listen positively to his shortcomings. Such a leader will be more of a dictator. Good examples form history like that of Adolf Hitler clearly point out to the fact that dictatorship's period is ephemeral. On the contrary, it may be argued that to reach the top one has to effectively compete with his rivals. But to hold the top position effectively, cooperation is must.

Thus, cooperation is must to be present in a successful leader. Only this can lead to effective management.