The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

The argument stated above is flawed because of many underlying assumptions which lead to the main conclusion that in order to increase the number of avid viewers and advertising contracts, the time devoted to local and weather news should be restored to the original level.

Firstly, the nature of complaints recieved from the channel's viewers is not described. Their might have been a change in the anchor delivering the weather and local news. So problems may have arisen because of his speech or style. Maybe the channel is delivering fake news related to local and weather issues. Had the author of the memorandum stated that the customers specifically complained about the the less time given to local and weather complaints than year ago, the author's conclusion would have been more satisfactory.

Moreover, the number of the businesses who stopped advertising during late-night news program is not mentioned. there can be many reasons behind them cancelling their advertisements. They might have entered into a dispute with the channel due to some issue. Furthermore, they might have experienced financial losses during that time due to the market economy. Therefore, they stopped advertising during late-night thinking that less number of users watch late-night news, so this won't have a significant effect on size of their customer base. Had the author mentioned the exact number of businneses canceling their advertising contracts and their reasons behind doing so, the conclusion stated could be

Finally, the author dosen't mention the exact figure by which the time given to local and weather news has been reduced.Significant time reduction may affect customers and advertising companies. But just a small time reduction on the other hand might not do so.For example, if it is only about 50% of the total time devoted to the late-night news program, it may strengthen the author's conclusion.

Thus, considering the flaws stated above, the argument posed by the author does not satisfactorily lead to the conclusion mentioned.