All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Everybody who is involved in some occupation in this world is the master of his field. A software developer cannot effectively do marketing. Similarly nobody can do a consultant's job better than him. Therefore, the need of hiring outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently cannot be ignored. His importance in the success of a company cannot be ignored.

The main reason behind this is that consultants have the requisite knowledge in this field since it is their profession. They have spent years of their lives studying or gathering knowledge related to this field. For example, consider a company which launches a new product in the market hoping it will succeed with flying colours. Now, the product does not perform as per expectations. The employees try every possible method to increase the demand for the product but fail to achieve the desired results. A consultant on the other hand has analysed data over the years and can suggest companies about the areas in which the product demand is expected to rise. He can also point out to other flaws in the internal working of the organisation which can be seen only by an outsider and not one who works inside the company.

Furthermore, consultants have the experience which is not comparable to any ordinary person like an employee. They deal with all kinds of companies whether big or small scale, from textiles to construction companies, etc. If a company faces some kind of problem which is not ordinary, there are chances that the consultant in his past records has amended similar kind of an issue in a similar company. Thus, he can provide with a viable solution.

Finally, any outsider not belonging to the company can give unbiased and genuine recommendations. Consider the case of a company which is failing badly due to some fault on the part of the manager of that company. Now, it is possible that many employees do not have guts to tell the manager about his mistakes. They might fear souring relations with him or simple continue jingoism to get promotion. A consultant on the other hand can clearly tell the manager to amend some of his decisions or policies. On the contrary it may be argued that extra money is spent on hiring consultants and that working on the employees' suggestions can be a cost-effective solution. But the experience and knowledge of a professional consultant is not commensurate with that of an employee.

All the points stated above clearly underscore the need of hiring outside consultants for better and smooth operations of a company.