A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous

Every individual is born with unique capabilities. Had Beyonce focussed more of her time and energy in playing football rather than music, there is a greater probability that nobody in this world knew about her. Thus, it is always better to work upon one's strong areas right from a very early age. A student should be given the flexibility to decide his curriculum even in secondary school.

Firstly, every individual performs better in a field of his own interest. Students have enough time in their secondary school years to decide upon their interests. Now, for example if Albert Einstein was forced to study politics in which he had least interest, obviously he would not have scored well. Thus he would have been declared as an average child with no special abilities. But since he had great interest in laws of nature or Physics, he instead focussed on developing his brain in that direction right from the time he was a child. Thus, putting hands into anything in which one is not interested is a sheer waste of talent and energy.

Furthermore, focussing on particular area right from the early age gives children more time to delve into the depth of the subject and learn more and more. This reminds me of Sam who loved Mathematics and had spent extra time learning concepts which were not taught in the chool. Now, when he entered into the college for Bachelors degree in Mathematics, he stood way ahead of his peers in terms of knowledge. He was quick in grasping new concepts too.

Finally, students have to pay a lot of money for the unnecessary subjects which won't bring them much gains in their future. Now imagine the case of a student coming from a family who is not much financially sound. He might not be able to spend much money on specialisations i.e. higher study beacuse much of their money has already been spent. Had it been the case where he chose only the desired subjects, he would still have much more resources to continue studying higher in the feild of his interest. On the contrary, it might be possible that a students do not know much about their field of interest. So in that case it is better to study the fixed common curriculum. But such cases are rare. Instead, secondary school should design its curriculum such that each student gets time to know more about his feild of interest.

Thus all the points stated above underscore the importance of students being given the choice to decide their curriculum way before their college years.