A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation.

Throughout history, many nations attempted and some of them managed to entirely unify school curricula. I believe there are benefits to such enforcements until children reach a certain age, yet in my opinion, it is better to allow schools to customize their curricula according to the profile of students as soon as the students are ready to be classified.

I believe that students should be taught the same material until they finish middle school. This is because research demonstrates that the divergence between students become evident only after they reach adolescence. After the differences are revealed, I believe students should be categorized according to their orientations and skills, as specialization at an early age is a step toward becoming a more productive worker. In Germany, for instance, students enter different types of high schools following their completion of middle school studies, and there are high schools with an emphasis on academic content, practical content, arts, etc. Owing to this system, the workforce of Germany is thoroughly specialized and skilled, which is a contributing factor to its booming economy.

Some people may argue that children may not be sufficiently mature to select the right type of school for themselves by the time they finish middle school. This is the part where teachers and parents have a responsibility. If teachers observe and track the achievements and progress of a student, he or she can give useful advice to the student about the student's strong and weak points. This is one of the formal responsibilities of instructors in Finland: they are required to prepare reports regarding each student's academic development and disclose the information to parents, and in some cases to the student. I acknowledge that this is difficult to achieve in countries and schools where the student-to-teacher ratio is high, yet in that case, parents can take on the responsibility.

All in all, I believe that it is inefficient to force youngsters to follow the same national curriculum until they reach college because their talents are revealed much earlier than that, so they can start specializing at an earlier age and become productive workers. Their well being would also increase, as they would be doing things that they enjoy and that are suitable for their competences.