A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author recommends that a nation should mandate that every student should study the same national curriculum before they go to college; however, I disagree with this recommendation. I disagree for three reasons: 1) every student's needs and interests are different 2) educators may become complacent and 3) results may not accurately reflect a student/teacher's ability if answers are leaked.

Firstly, a nation shouldn't mandate students study the same curriculum since every student has different needs and interests - what may work for one student may not work for another student. A math-inclined student may thrive in the math section at the beginning but may feel limited when the student is unable to pursue those interests further. The same student, however, may suffer in English literature where the national curriculum may be too fast paced; this may result in the student falling behind unnecessarily. For this reason, a nation should not have a mandated national curriculum before university. If the country implements this national curriculum, the math student may be left behind when it comes to English literature and restricted when trying to push the envelope in the world of math.

Secondly, educators subject to a mandated curriculum may become disenchanted with the teaching profession as there is limited scope for creativity. If a teacher does not believe with what should be taught, teachers may become jaded and not motivate students as hard as they should. It also limits the creativity of teachers when they realize that there may be tangential or new topics that should be taught as the world evolves. Hypothetically, the national curriculum could mean that teaching standards decrease as teachers don't have to care about what the students need and forcefully teach the students material that might not be interesting or beneficial to the students in the classroom.

Thirdly, a national curriculum may encourage cheating between students, parents, and teachers that will artificially inflate results. If a parent focused on getting the best scores for the students may be inclined to find ways to get answers to the tests/exams for the national curriculum so that their child(ren) get higher scores. This, however, is detrimental to students as they're not actually learning anything. Instead, they may be compelled to do rote memorization of answers. This circumstance holds true if the answers/tests are not properly protected, but if the answers/test material is properly kept "secret" as is the case with standardized tests like the GRE, then the test results may still be indicative of a student's ability.

While my three points may hold true, it should also be noted that mandating a national curriculum before college may be beneficial as it provides the same standard of education for students in areas where educators may be less inclined to provide top-quality education. The national curriculum provides a crutch with which a novice educator can lean upon when formulating lesson plans, but this is only useful for new teachers. Old teachers may not benefit from being forced a national curriculum.

In conclusion, while the author argues that a nation should enforce a national curriculum upon all students before college, there are multiple flaws with this point of view. Each student may have different educational requirements, teachers may become disincentivized, and cheating may artificially inflate results. For those reasons, a country should not have the same national curriculum for all students before they enrol in college. More information and analysis would be necessary to determine if a national curriculum would be beneficial, for instance, what the underlying motive for establishing a national curriculum is.