'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The statement is true to a point, but not completely supporting evidence. Although there have been arguments but not enough examples to support them, and hence the strength of the arguments have collapsed. Firstly, there are no stats on the viewership of national news. Secondly, the author fails to explain any statistical information on the people who've complained. Additionally, there is no comparison between the revenue that was being reaped in the past year with what is being earned now.

The author has failed to provide any information on the viewership of national news. This generates an immediate question about what time increase has taken place. If in a two hour long bulletin, there has been a time increase of a mere 5 minutes, it doesn't really make a difference to the viewership. However, if there has been a noticeable time increase, of say 30 minutes, this may support to some context, the argument of the user.

Additionally, there is no information about how many complaints are based on weather and local news. There is no figurative information to explain the argument. The author uses the word 'most' but fails to explain how many are 'most'. Also, there is no information about the complainants. Are there a huge number of complaints from a particular group (say advertisers) or an equal number of complaints from the population as a whole.

Furthermore, the author has failed to identify whether the advertisements with national businesses bloomed as a consequence of more national news being telecasted in the past year. If there is a visible increase in the revenue from national businesses, provided the sum of profits is more than what earlier was, it clearly indicates that the television station is reaping more profits and hence should continue with the new strategy.

Extrapolating the response, the author leaves a lot of loose ends and this causes the strength of argument to startle. The author should provide more statistical information to support what he is trying to convey.