Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly, Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that the chain of stores is opening its new franchise in the town of Plainville and it should prove to be very successful. The author has given various arguments to prove his claim but these arguments are based on void assumptions, so the author’s claim is weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, the author’s claim was based on the assumption that since the sales of the running shoes and the exercise clothing is at all-time high, so the people of the Plainsville’s town lead a healthy lifestyle, but the author fails to mention the reason for the high sales of the exercise and the running products. The sales might be high due to the other factors like the sale is going on running shoes and exercise clothing and because of that, the people of Plainsville bought a lot of products.

Secondly, the author mentioned that the local health club has more members than ever. There could be various other reasons for that. It might be due to the club offered 1+1 membership for the couples and residents of the Plainsville doesn’t want to lose that chance. The other reason for the increment of the members is that the club might have conducted indoor games competition for a few days and the residents wanted to attend that competition.

Thirdly, the author assumed that since the weight training and aerobic classes were always full, therefore the people of Plainsville maintained a healthy lifestyle. The author fails to take into account the number of people in weight training and aerobic classes compared to the total number of people in Plainsville. What if the total number of people in weight training and aerobic classes consists of 1% of the total number of people in Plainsville, then even if everyone buys the healthy products the franchise would not be very successful.

At last the author mentioned that school children represent a new generation of potential customers. They will buy health-related products because they will engage in fitness for life program and these products will help them in maintaining their fitness. The argument is based on the assumption that parents will allow their children to take health supplements at this younger age, but we don’t have any information about it.

In conclusion, the author’s claim would be strengthened if the author took into account the other factors like the reason for the high sale of running products and exercise equipment, the number of people joined the aerobic classes and the surety if parents will allow their children to take health supplements. With these assumptions, the claim is weak and more of wishful thinking.