Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that the Arctic deer population is declining because they are not able to migrate over the frozen sea. Since the deers are not able to go from one place to another, they are not getting proper food and die due to starvation. This argument is based on a lot of assumptions due to which the argument is weak and unconvincing.

The local hunters reported that the population of the deer is declining but we don’t have any evidence if that is declining due to starvation. There are chances that the count of the deer is decreasing due to excessive hunting by the local hunters. The Canada is a very cold country and the skin of the arctic deer is used in making leather jackets which is sold in the market at higher prices.

Due to the change of the weather, various wild animals like wolves and snow Tigers, which only survives in colder regions, have migrated to the arctic regions for their survival. Now, these animals feed on the local animals and arctic deers due to which their population is decreasing drastically.

The plants on which these deer survives are found abundantly on other islands. Also, the weather on the other islands is more favorable to them. Therefore, these deers might have migrated to those islands for their survival. Since, we don’t have any information about the plants and the weather on other islands. The argument is more of a assumption.

The argument would be strengthened if we have more information about the excessive hunting either by animals which feeds on these deers or by the local hunters who use their skin for leather market. Also, the information about the plants and the weather of the other islands would be helpful in strengthening the argument.

In conclusion, the population of the deer is not declining just because they are not able to migrate from one island to another. There could be various other reasons for their decreasing numbers.