The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

The extent to which consumer should purchase products that are made with ccc's copper has been complicated in its implication. According to the letter to the editor of a journal on environment">environmental issues, the author recommends that consumers should refuse to buy products from ccc' copper to avoid natural disasters. To buttress his argument, the author cites that mining copper on land will result in pollution and cause threat to endangered animal species. while declining to use products made with ccc's copper might be beneficial to protecting environment in some extent, the causal effect is not unambiguous due to unaddressed assumptions.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that mining copper on land would lead to natural disasters. if all equipment is environment">environmental friendly and pollutions can be eliminated by advanced technologies installed by ccc, then the negative impact to environment might be ignored. In addition, the assumption that this company will threaten endangered animal species. it is true that west fredonia is home of several endangered animal species, but do most of them habit on the land purchased by ccc? it is likely that west fredonia is very large, and ccc only owns tiny portion of land, so that these endangered animal species might still have agreeable habitats and sufficient resources to live and survive. it is also plausible that those endangered animals are very adaptive, and so mining copper has no influence on them. Unless the author provides direct causes to environment from ccc, the assumption about disaster is not convincing.

Moreover, the author assumes that it is relatively easy and feasible for consumers to refuse to purchase products made with ccc' copper. this claim might make sense if people can readily find other replacement to substitute ccc's copper. On the contrary, if ccc is the only company who provide copper, then doing so might strongly affect people's normal livings. if all those products are necessary goods to citizens, not to purchase them may be not a wise decision. Additionally, if the company abandons its mining plans, ccc might think out other ways to process their copper, which could cause even worse influence on the earth and lands. Without assuming that ccc's copper can be easily substituted by other products, the suggestion in the letter is not persuasive.

last but not least, the author assumes that disasters can be prevented if consumer refuse to buy products related to ccc's copper. this assumption might be seemingly convincing, but further investigation weakens its credibility. if the majority revenue of ccc comes from cooperation with big companies or exported to other countries, instead of individual purchases, then such advocate would not be meaningful. In such cases, ccc can still make large profits and so no need to promise to consumer’s actions. What's more, the author fails to consider other factors resulting in disasters. environment">environmental damage can be caused by global warming, overhunting, overexploitation of lands and so forth, and simply limit one factor might be meaningless. For example, if copper mining only constitutes a small proportion of natural disaster, while overhunting cause more damage to endangered species, then passing laws inhibiting hunting might be more useful than limiting purchase of products made of ccc's copper. Therefore, the argument can be strengthened if we are offered evidences about severity caused by copper mining.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion by the editor is relied on several unstated and problematic stated assumptions that curtail the validity of the overall suggestion. To further strengthen the recommendation, the author ought to provide the evidences as follows: first, whether ccc will cause negative impact on environment; second, whether letting consumers not purchasing products made of ccc's copper is feasible and not affect normal living; last, whether environment">environmental condition will be better due to such policy.