The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prediction based on the recently issued twenty-year study may seem to hold grounds, but if deeper studies are undertaken to highlight the subtle issues that have been overlooked, the prediction might prove unwarranted.

The argument omits two crucial aspects of the study – time and authenticity. Although the study has been recently issued, the argument does not clearly define the time frame for the study: whether it was conducted recently or in the past. Moreover, the argument does not throw light on the researchers, or whether their work has been acknowledged or published by a recommended body overseeing such studies. The argument would have been cogent had it included the methods and instruments used for this specific study. Thus, predicting the decline of headaches for Mentia residents seem unreliable if the above factors are not included.

Correlation between the increase in use of salicylates and the reduction in number of headaches has been drawn based on two different aspects that are not logically connected. It might be true that commercial use of salicylates has increased in recent times, but its efficacy on the participants does not hold ground unless the figures of the changing consumption patterns of salicylates in the participants’ food are presented. Nevertheless, the argument omits the concerned age group of study and fails to throw light on the time span and intensity of headaches of the participants. Had similar findings, if carried out in other places, been included, the prediction would have been more cogent.

The argument fails to investigate the possible over use of salicylates and its side-effects, if any. It has often been observed that over consumption of a particular chemical lead to uncalled effects, the possibility of which has clearly been omitted here. The argument does not provide information about the quantity of salicylates permitted for human bodies. Moreover, if foods are naturally rich in salicylates, then why increase its use as chemical preservatives and additives?The advantages of salicylates over the long trusted aspirin, or the reasons for reduction in number of headaches due to development of a newer and more effective drug, has been omitted. The prediction would have been more reliable had it included the details mentioned and bolstered by doctors, researches and other approved bodies.

Thus, for the prediction of the twenty –year study to hold ground for the residents of Mentia, a deeper and more comprehensive analysis is necessary.