Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that Woven baskets were not uniquely Palean. To support his/her claim, the author cites the following evidences: first, archaeologists discovered one Woven basket in Lithos; second, there is a very deep and broad river that can be crossed only by boat; third, no Palean boat has been found. Tough the issue has its merit, due to incomplete evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author unfairly indicates that all the conditions about two villages and river are unchanged over years. That the current Brim River is very deep and broad does not necessarily mean it was very deep and wide in the ancient. It is plausible the river was very shallow in the ancient, so that it is obvious that people could easily pass river without any boats. There could be even no river in the ancient at all. The argument made by the author is questionable when there was dramatic change happening from past to present, especially the condition about the Brim River.

Moreover, the author assumes that boat is the only method to cross the river. Many other approaches to cross the river remain untested. If ancient people living around the river were all good at swimming, then Woven basket can be transported by people who swam. There could also be a bridge on the river, but as time passes, the bridge was ruined by flood and then no longer exists today. Woven baskets, therefore, can be readily transported to Lithos from Palea in the ancient. In addition, archaeologists only discovered one Woven basket in Lithos. The sample size is too small to evaluate the full story. Without evidence with regard to all other possible approaches passing the river in ancient, we are not equipped with the ability to draw any conclusion about the spread of Woven basket.

Last but not least, the fact that no Palean boat has been found does not mean there is no evidence about boat. Probably the boats were belonged to people in Lithos, who shared the boats in transporting Woven baskets. Archaeologists today may not be obtained with sophisticated tools or ways to detect the ancient relics of boats. The Palean boats might be made of disposable materials like wood in the ancient. They disposed through a series of processes with the assistance of rain, wind, and bacteria activities. The boats, in this case, are not likely to be found today even if there was a bridge in the past.

To sum up, as it stands, the author makes conclusion based on several questionable assumptions which undermines its validity.

To further strengthen his argument, the author is recommended to provide evidences as follows: first, the comparison of river conditions between present and past; second, sophisticated investigation by experts shows that no boast ever existed in the history; third, the only way to approach Litho from Palea is by boating after excluding all other possibilities.