The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument proposes that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. To buttress his/her conclusion, the author cites the following evidences: first, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than any other year; second, the percentage of positive reviews increases. The argument may have its merit, but due to relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the recommendation here is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the accuracy and validity of the report and reviews are questionable. If the positive reviews were two percent last year, with decreasing attendance, while those was about one percent in the previous years, then this one percentage increase does not necessarily indicate the improvement of movie qualities. We are not given the information, such as attendance in other movie theaters. If there is a universal decline in the number of people watching movies, then Super Screen may consider advertising movie in terms of whole industry. Moreover, the relationship between people watching movie and the reviews remains untested. People, deciding on whether to watch movie, might make decision based only on rates. Instead of reading every review carefully, they choose to glance the rates of each movie. Even if there are positive reviews which give relatively high rates, most of reviews can be bad with extremely low rates. The overall rating of Super Screen might still be very low, which deters people from heading to it.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the only reason that fewer people watch Super Screen movies is lack of public awareness of the good quality movies. The assumption may seem valid at first glance, careful investigation suggests that it is unwarranted. Many other plausible explanations remain unproven. Say, for example, that people nowadays are busy with their work and do not have much leisure time or that they prefer to watch movies on TV or Internet. Even if movies become better, in this case, the amount of individuals going to Super Screen can still be small.

Last but not least, the author falsely predicts that by distributing more money on advertisement, there will be more people attending Super Screen-produced movies. When Super Screen puts more money on advertising, owing to limited budget, it may spend less money on the shooting and producing new movies. The movie quality hence will be decreased in the next year. People who see the advertisement would still not come to watch the Super Screen movies because of poor quality. The author fails to come up with more feasible ways to attract potential consumers. Super Screen might offer better services, giving people better experiencing when watching movie. They can do so by providing free beverages and snacks. No one can easily make conclusion about the best improvement without comparing different kinds of suggestions carefully.

To sum up, as it stands, the argument by the author is relied on several problematic assumptions that weakens its validity. To further strengthen its credibility, the author is advised to provide the evidences as follows: first, the percentage of positive reviews is a reasonable and credible measure with regard to the quality of Super Screen movies; second, there are strong evidences that people not going to Super Screen is only ascribed to unawareness of improving movie qualities; third, a persuasive research conducted by the professional experts indicates spending more money on advertising is the solo resort to the current issue.