86. The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo at xyz company suggests that it would be a mistake to replace delany by walsh Personnel Firm in assisting in lay-off employees finding new job. To buttress the argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, last year, those who used delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not; second, eight years ago, only self of workers found jobs within a year using walsh; third, delany has bigger staff and larger number of branch offices; finally, last year the duration of finding a job is shorter in delany than in walsh. Tough the issue has merit, due to incomplete evidences, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author unfairly uses the examples from eight years ago to make comparison today. over the eight years, the condition in both walsh and delany changed a lot. what if walsh improved their servies, employee qualities and technical skills while delany remained unchanged? what if walsh fired more sophisticated experts in revising resumes and developing interviewing skills? what if walsh gained coraperation with certain companies? Without informing about the two changes of those two companies over the eight years, we are unable to make any comparsion. In addition, the author fails to offer the percentage of workers found jobs in Delnay eight years ago. what if the reemployment rate is even lower than walsh? we also demand the economic condition eight years ago. if there occurred serious recession in the whole countries, then finding a decent job might be much higher today and so took much longer time.

Furthermore, the memo assumes that bigger staff and larger number of branch offices are beneficial to finding jobs. Though the assumption seems valid at first glance, we need more evidences to supprot such argument. Otherwise, the conclusion in the memo is ungrounded. we should be informed about education level, abilities and personal qualities about those employees. For example, if delany's employees have less sophisticated vocational skills and less patient than those in walsh in general, then the bigger staff might have contribute positively to rehiring processes. Similarly, number of branch offices cannot tell the whole story about the overall success of two campanies. To further investigate this suggestion, we need more information such as location of thoses branch offices. if all branch offices are very far away from xyz, or even in another cities, it might not be the best choice for xyz due to inconvenience.

last but not least, duration comparision from last year of two companies is not convincing. there are many other factors remained unexamined. To illustrate, it is plausible that overall quality and background of employees in delany is much stonger than those in walsh, it the shorten average time of finding new job falls perhaps not on services provided by the companies, but by the qualification of employees themselves. To fully evaluate the argument, the author should provide detailed information about all lay-out workers, including age, previous position, wage, experience and so on. Additionally, last year performance cannot well predict this year, since many things can change in one year.

To sum up, the argument is based on incomplete evidences what weaken the credibility of the memo. To further strengthen the argument, the author is advised to include the evidences as follows: first, whether there are dramatic changes over the past eight years in both companies; second, whether bigger staff and larger number of branch offices play crucial role in enhancing the employment likelihood; finally, whether the last year's performances in two companies are comparable.