"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions

The author proposes that, owing to increasing demand for heating oil, we should invest in Consolidated Industries whose major business operation is the retail sale of home heating oil. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, 90 days with below-average temperature happened last year and would continue for the several more years; second, increasingly number of newly built home in this region during the past year suggests more requirement of oil; third, retail sale of home heating oil is the major business operation in Consolidated Industries. Tough the issu...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.