The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that

While it may be true that investment in Consolidated Industries can bring benefits, this author's argument does not make a cogent case for increased demand based on cooler climate and new homes builted. It is easy to understand that why heating oil will have an increased demand, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to recommand in investing the company.

One problem with the argument is that climate forecasters estimate that this region will continue having belownormal temperatures for several years in winter. Whereas, the author neglects that whether this forecast is reliable. Since the movement of the atmosphere is always changing, as well as human activities may have an impact on the weather, even their words tell the truth at present , they can not promise this will always right. Furthermore, there are difference data between weather forcast stations, for the technology of the facility and methods used to calculate, the results from some of them appeal more creadible. Thus, it is also necessary to review this weather forecast station's pasted statistic as to see whether their conclusion is true.

It seems reasonable that new houses waited to be built and the cold weather results in much more comsume in heating oil, which act as the mayor fuel for heating. In a way, it is obvious that the using in resources for obtaing heat inevitably will ascend. Nevertheless, heating oil is not the only substance that can be tranferred for providing heat, there are other materials such as nature gas and other new energy resources that can be utilized. In addition, those new energy may be cleaner and cheaper. These advantages can attract many people change their preference, or even the government may carry out regulations encouraging using cleaner energy for protecting the environment.

On the ground of the assumption from the mentioned above, taking investment in Consolidated Industries is rational in some degree. More energy is needed in considertaion of sustaining low temperature and growing quantity of residents, while Consolidated Industries is not the only one who offers retail sale or the best choice. For the company's oil may have of poor quality as well as inefficiency in working patterns. There can be safer if first doing a survey on the comany's actual status before doing the investment in case losing money.

A rational weather report with previous accurate data and the heating oil still acts as the main resource, leads to reasonable increasement in cosuming more heating oil. For these reasons, it is a good idea to have investment.However, this author's argument is not likely significantly persuade the resident to take the investment.