Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author points out that declining population in deer is the result of their being unable to follow age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. To buttresses his/her argument, the author cites the following evidence: first, Arctic deer need to limit their habitats to both warm and cold areas by migration; second, the reports local hunters and recent global warming trends show that the deer populations are decreasing. Tough the issue pointed have its merit, because of lack of relevant evidence and unaddressed assumptions, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the creditability of the reports by local hunters is questionable. It is possible the hunters mistakenly count the number of deer in the warm areas when a mass of deer actually live in cold areas. The population of deer calculated this way is unwarranted. It is overhunting that results to the dwindled population of deer, instead of global warming. The untested report by local hunter, hence, does not give strong evidence to support the variation in local environment.

In addition, the author unfairly assumes that the recent global warming trend takes place in the Arctic. The assumption seems valid at first glance. Careful investigation curtails the validity of assumption since global trend does not necessarily apply to this specific area. If the temperature of arctic goes up, then it is possible that the migration of deer will be affected, thus supporting the author’s argument. If, nonetheless, the temperature goes down in this particular area, we may indicate that there is no direct relationship between the declining deer and global warming trend.

Moreover, the change in climate patterns does not necessarily lead to the decline in deer population. Features and living habitats would evolve according to their surroundings. Even if the climate has changed, deer may remain stable because they may adapt themselves to the new weather by certain means. Almost all deer are able to survive, as a result, due to their adaptability to environment.

Last but not least, the author mistakenly ascribes the shrinking deer population in Arctic to their inability to follow their traditional migration patterns crossing the frozen sea. He/she fails to consider many other factors leading to its dwindling. Say, for example, that deer cannot obtain enough food, for which plants that used to feed on are extinct. Deer suffered from hunger owing to lack of enough food for survival. Inconclusive explanations for the declining trend in deer makes the author's argument problematic.

To sum up, as it stands, the author's conclusion is based on several invalid assumptions which undermines its reliability. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is suggested to include the evidences as follows: first, the evidence of dwindling deer must be gathered by methodical and scientific investigation carried out by professional experts; second, global warming also applies in Arctic; finally, the impact of migration patter is the only impact on variation in population of deer.