The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Whether Grove college should maintain all-female education tradition has been complicated in its implication and debated significantly. The college's governing committee recommend doing so, since they predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. To buttress their argument, the committee members cite the evidences of ideas of coeducation from both past and present students. Although the recommendation has its own merit, it does not necessarily have the predicted results due to uncertainty among survey and ambiguous causes of the results.

To begin with, in order to fully evaluate the argument, the question that requires answers from the author is whether survey from students can substantiate the recommendation. The author supposed that eighty percent of students wanted the school to remain all female, but what is the total number of this sample size? What are the class standings of those participants? How was the survey conducted, by face-to-face interviewing or anonymous online vote? Without detailed information about the survey, we cannot gain reliable conclusion. For example, suppose incoming students tend to be content with or are even attracted by the all-female policy while graduating seniors prefer co-educational policy. If a disproportionate number of survey’s respondents are incoming students, then the result would distort the entire student body’s opinions as a group. Similarly, if most survey participates are not donors of college, whose views differ from donor, then the survey can give little information about potential donation. Besides, the author fails to provide the sample size of these surveys. When only a few people took part in the survey, the results would not be a credible indication of prediction.

Moreover, another question needs to be answered is that whether there is a causal relationship between college all-female policy and morale among students. The administration provides no reason why morale would improve, as opposed to remaining at its current level, if the status is simply maintained. Besides, we should also be informed about other conditions that might affect morale. For instance, if tuition increases dramatically while many reputed professors left the college, the morale of students would be impacted negatively in this case. Only after justifying all possible circumstances with regards to students’ morale can we fully evaluate the predicted expectations.

Last but not least, the author should provide more information about the fact that whether all-female education will convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. If alumnae are satisfied about the current all-female rule and think that it has given them adequate educational environment that prepared them for better jobs and better individuals, then they would keep making donations. However, we have to acknowledge that financial supports might be based on many other factors. It is plausible that alumnae devoting money or resources to college relies on their income and school’s demands. If the nation is experiencing business recession, then alumnae might save more money for themselves and make less donations. Quite likely, when student’s financial needs increase, such as updating educational equipment and technology and recruiting distinguished professors, more alumnae would be willing to do such favor. Hence, the continuation of financial perhaps cannot be expected wholly by all-female policy. Without examining the reasons behind alumnae’s financial support, we are not able to foresee the trend owing to the change.

To sum up, as it stands, the aforementioned recommendation from college committee is not a simple issue that can be addressed readily. To strengthen the predicted result, the author ought to offer evidences as follows: first, whether the survey results from both current students and alumnae are convincing; second, whether all-female mode will improve morale among students instead of stabilizing or even decreasing; last, whether financial support from alumnae is correlated to tradition of all-female education.