The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation asseverates strong disapproval from the students, not to the possibility of morale corruption and a retrench of funding by the alumnae. Moreover, the faculty wanting to change the matriculation policy of the university to accrue more appliers. However, the passage is cogent and will need to provide additional proof to persuade the governing committee.

First of all, the faculties assertions should be further supported by logical evidence to why applicants will want to enter the university if it yields to a coeducation system. Applicants wanting to enter prominent schools would not apply to this academy because of it's poor reputation and the altercation of it's education system will not change their minds. Or, because of the limited subjects that the school provides, applicants will not increase and search for a more pertinent school to pursue their dreams. Nevertheless, because of the pool of highschool graduates allowed to apply are increased, the assertion of the faculty cannot be totally overlooked.

Next, surveys are prone to pitfalls because of the failure to incorporate all of the student's or alumnue's opinions about coeducation. For example, the survey conducted in the humanities department, which is famous for supporting feminism, may abhor the idea of men entering their education system. On the other hand, students in the Natural Science department may be indifferent to this case. All in all, surveys are not a credible source of information: more information about it should be given to be regarded as a reliable source of information.

Finally, it is not lucid that keeping up with the tradition will help increase the morale standards and constant subsidy from the alumnae. Morale, is a subjective value and by allowing diversity among the students, the morale may increase due to the understanding of various people. Moreover, because of the diversity, in the long term the financial support of the graduates may increase due to the wider support or vocations they might enter: after the modification more graduates started working in technological fields. Nevertheless, the revel environment of both gender getting along may inhibit the academic milieu and thus the author should elaborate on this issue to be further coherent with the message.

In conclusion, although appealing, fails to provide evidence for the increase in applicants after modifications of the tradition. Apart from this, it should be explicit on the foundations of the survey and the correlation of morals and funding with the tradition of the academy.