The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends to maintain Grove College's all-female education, because of improvement of morality among students and favour for alumnae. To support his/her claim, the author cites a comparison for faculty's opposite attitude to such policy and student's enthusiastic support for it. Furthermore, it is also said that more than half of alumnae endorse the old tradition of all-female college. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her lines of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's conclusion could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the validity of faculty's suggestion for supporting coeducation, a question that is not yet answered. However, it is likely that coeducation is more beneficial than all-female style because it could really enhance the recruitment status and support the author's goal of both improvement of morale and support from alumnae. Without additional information, it is possible that coeducation could attract more applicants and students with different genders could actually help improve morale and break the traditional bias of gender isolation. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge invalidity about faculty's recommendation and render the author's recommendation much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that coeducation could inversely decrease applicant's number could strengthen his/her conclusion.

Granted that faculty's invalid idea and given the fact that both students and majority of alumnae support the traditional all-female policy, whether we should persist with single gender education needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that current students' tendency could also represent new applicants' attitude who would become students in Grove College. However, the probability that new applicants that grows in a gender-equal society could prefer to coeducation circumstance must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could sufficiently demonstrate that the incoming new students are actually fond of a pure all-female environment, his/her conclusion will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that the survey constructed for alumnae reflects the truth of their preference. While it is shown in the survey that majority of graduates from the college are still enamored with the tradition, the probability that such survey is designed in bias for the sake of drawing support to continue with old fashion policy could not be excluded in advance. For example, the designer of such survey is a crazy fan for all-female policy or she/he had too much worry about a unnecessary outgrowth of change. Thus, we have no clues whether the survey's result is an actual reflection for alumnae's authentic idea. If no, their census of old fashion is unlikely to become reasonable. Otherwise, we are inclined to believe that it is still worth to persist such policy.

In summary, while faculty's suggestion has been disputed as invalid, this is a conclusion that we can not derive from the information available in the passage. Furthermore, even if strong support from students and alumnae, persisting old fashion is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after these aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we efficiently evaluate the author's argument and reach a logically sound conclusion.