The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this passage, we are informed that the unemployment rate in Dillton remains stable, despite of increasing employed people in two new factories. Referring to such situation, the author attributes the unchanged unemployment rate to the fact that two factories hired out-of-town employees instead of local colleagues. Quite convincing though such explanation appears at first glance, we can not safely claim that it is the unique one that accounts for the facts presented in the argument. Therefore, we need to consider more reasons , which could rival with the one presented in the passage.

To start off, we need to clarify with the definition of unemployment rate, which equates with unemployment number of population divide the total population in Dillton city. Thus, based on factors relevant with equation, there exists several possible situations, which could lead to the constant unemployment rate.

First of all, while 1,000 peoples have been hired by two new factories, it doesn't mean that the employment population will definitely increase. Instead, it is likely that the unemployment total number could keep as before.For example, two new factories just hired the people who already owned a suitable local job position. If it is the case, unemployment number of population doesn't change, because there exist only exchange between employed workers. Consequently, the constant unemployment rate could be explained as originating from non-changed number of unemployed people in local.

Furthermore, considering factors in rate equation, the changes of total population number could exert influence on the final unemployment rate. However, the author seems only consider that increasing employment will lead to the inevitable decrease of unemployment population, but also ignore that facts that unemployment population could also be affected by many reasons. Thus, one possible reason accounting for the fact could be that unemployment population also increase dramatically, when hired people of two new factories raise up. The possible reason is that the new jobs provide by those two factories incur fierce market competition, which leads to more people's leave from their original job position.

Last but not least, even if we supposed that employment population has been increased by more hires from these two factories, other explanations could also compete with the one alleged in the argument. For instance, the total population number has also raised up from other reasonable cause, such as more teenage employment enter the new market after graduation. Under such as, instead of employed number increase, the denominator in the equation also become larger, which definitely offset the increasing trend caused by the employment effect by those two factories. If this is true, constant rate could be understandable.

In summary, while employment population number have exerted great influence on the final unemployment rate, in the absence of sufficient information, we can not establish a casual relationship between it and the hiring choices of two new factories for local resident. The constant unemployment rate is such a case that we should consider more explanations which could account for the facts mentioned in the argument.