The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The writer believes that the reason that the unemployment rates in Dillton remain unchanged depite the several efforts to improve employment, is that new factories have been employing out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents. This argument is flawed as it does not take into account other reasons that this phenomenon might be observed, but tries to make conclusions with simplistic reasoning.

Primarily, the writer does not present any population statistics of Dillton. The employment of more than a 1000 workers in new factories might be insignificant if Dillton houses over a million residents, especially considering that not every one of these workers is a resident of Dillton. This would account for the unchanged employment rate, and thus it cannot be conclusively stated that Dillton workers are not employed in these factories.

Secondly, the writer fails to take into account the professional skills of the residents of Dillton. Unemployment is not confined to jobs that can be perfomed in factories. As a result, even if there were better job opportunities in factories, residents who are employed in software development for instance, would not find new employment opportunities within two newly opened factories, regardless of how much money and effort is spent by the city to employ people here. Perhaps the people of Dillton are suited for fields that are incompatible with the new jobs offered by the factories, which could account for the lack of an increased employment rate.

Furthermore, there may be some other underlying reasons that could account for the stagnation in the employment rates in Dillton. For instance, perhaps some of the unemployed people in Dillton are unemployed, not because of a lack of jobs, but because they are homeless, or perhaps disabled. These are not problems that can be solved by simply offering more employment opportunities. In addition, perhaps the salaries offered in the new jobs are not up to the standards of the rest of the city's jobs. In such a situation, it is likely that unemployed residents might keep seeking better opportunities instead of settling for lower paying jobs in the new factories. This could plausibly explain why the employment rate within Dillton is still stagnant.

In conclusion, the writer misguidedly believes that offering more jobs is tantamount to providing a solution to unemployment. He/she does not consider some of the more complex factors that might be responsible for the unemployment.