The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument here is from an article of Dillton newspaper. it talks about the reforms the city council had taken to stimulate the economy and its effects. All the council members decided that they would reduce the corporate tax by 15% and they would offer generous relocation grants to any company that would move to dilliton. However the opening of two factories in dilliton did not have any impact on the unemployment rate to which the passage concludes that the employment is being given to out of town workers.

In the passage it is given that the factories employ more than 1000 people but still the unemployment rate did not change. There might be a chance that the citizens who had left the town came back because of the news due to which the population of the unemployed increased. In spite of the factories taking many people as their employees the rate of unemployed would be the same.

The actions were implemented to increase their economy but they did not mention the after effects of their reforms on the economy rate. What had happened to the economy rate? How much did it increase by?

The passage doesnt even mention about the population demographics were the majority of population young or old. may be the factories wanted young people and this town did not have enough of them or may be more women. The people required depends on the factory that has been established and no information was provided about the factories that were built.

The argument here is flawed and would have been more cogent if they had mentioned about the population demographics, the type of factories built, the effect of their policies on economy rate .