The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream—a dairy product made from milk—at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

The paragraph here talks about increase in dairy farms in Relanna and about the new milking techniques which cut the cost of labor, which in turn would decrease the cost of milk. On the contrary the price of cream which is made from milk is doubled over the last two years. From this they state that the farmers are inflating the price of cream to augment their profits.

Firstly in the reasoning the increase in price of cream is assumed to hike only due to the increase in milk. The reasoning here is flawed because though cream is made up of milk it has several other ingredients which effect its price. Packaging the cream and storing them will also cost a fortune for the producers of cream. When they sell it they add these costs including the labor costs with a little profit and sell it to them. so the rise in price of cream cannot be only due to increase in cost of milk , there are myriad of factors effecting it.

Secondly to make cream we need heat exchangers which need to work at high temperatures. machines work only if the surrounding environment is suitable to them or else there might be wear and tear in them. May be Relannian weather had extreme rains or bad weather which had stopped production of cream with which demand increased. As we know demand and price are directly proportional, it might be one of the reasons for the inflation in the price of cream.

The argument was talking about the new milking techniques which requires human intervention. Although this might decrease the labor cost but the we did not take into account the cost for maintaining the machines and for buying them. As a result of it there might be an increase in the price of the milk to cover their expenditure but not because they had just inflated the prices for lucrative purposes.

With these reasons I presume the argument stated is flawed and could have been cogent if there were details about the prices of the machines, working of cream producing factories and the weather.