Science is meaningless without religion.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

science is study of our sorroundings where as religion is what we believe in. From the primordial times people believed that there is creator for this world and each group of people had their own idea about how the creater would be. they had written many books about the creater and how he had created the world. this has paved a path to many religions and from then on their heirs started believing the same religious principles as their elders. The claim here suggests that science is meaningless without religion. I feel the claim is partially true.

there are many religions in the world like hindus, Muslims, Christians, Sikhs etc. Each one of them have their own religious books. if we consider the vedas one of the book which is believed by the hindus. In it the world is considered to be in one of the four time period. The book classifies the total time untill the world becomes extinct into four different time periods. it also describes about how the world is the going to change, what would the improvements, what would be the disadvantages, how people are going to behave. The book describes thatas the time increases the humanity would decrease in the world. it also specifies that the world would become more developed as time increases. In one of the branches of science we even determine how the world is going to be after a few years and what to do to avoid deleterious effects. this branch of science is analogous to the religious book veda as it describes all of it.

Let us take the festival of diwali. According to mythology we burn crackers on the day of diwali because Lord Rama had returned Ayodhya after killing Ravana so as a sign of happiness we do it. Behind this celebration there is also a scientific fact because diwali comes after the end of rainy season. In rainy season there are lot of musquitoes. At the end of the season when we burn crackers it kills them because of the smoke and it would help us eschew many diseases. In this case also a religious celebration was based on a scientific reason which supports the claim.

On the contrary if we take many advanced theories like string theory, dark matter etc they are all the reason of experimentation and thoughts of many scientists. These theories postulate the formation of universe which doesnt depend on the religion. it is based on facts.

To say that science is meaningless without religion would not be right. Though some part of may be based on religion we cannot consider the entire thing to be contingent on religion.