Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim given here is that no act is done purely for the benefit of others and I accept this claim up to a major extent.I feel that all the acts done need not be self beneficial though it is true in most of the cases in today's world.

If we consider mother Teresa as an example she had served and helped people for the entire life not expecting any benefit out of her altruistic and benign nature. she had helped people with diseases like leprosy and homeless kids.she did'nt do all of that for her benefit and she rejected all kinds of financial trifles from people for herself.

In today's world we don't find people like mother Teresa.it's a generation filled with full of competition and not finding time for anyone but themselves. we find celebrity's doing many charity works now a days,though they do it for a good reason they still have a feeling in the heart that doing such works will augment their repute in the society.So even though they help people they do it for themselves partially.

In some cases people do some acts for others so that the other person might reciprocate when they are in need.So for these reasons I feel that no act is done purely for others in today's world even though there were instances of people who did things like that in the past.Every act has its ulterior motive behind it, motive can be a small one or a bigger one but it will be present for most of the cases.