The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

It might seem logical at first glance to agree with the letter to the editor of Relannian Newspaper which presents quite sophisticated facts to prove the point that, the farmers of Relenna are inflating the prices of a few dairy products like cream to increase their profits. But, I believe that close scrutiny of these facts are required to be completely assertain of the conclusion which the letter is claiming. It might be possible that various other explainations can be given for the same fact which is, as of now, blostering the claim that the farmers are inflating the price of cream to gain unscurplous profits. To support the conclusion the author of the letter has provided two main reasons. Industry analysts report which talks about increase in number of farms over the last decade and the recent innovations which has reduced the labor-cost and some data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture blostering this claim.

First of all, the industry analysts report which showcases a 25% increase in number of dairy farms is presenting incomplete details. It doesn’t touch upon the topic of number of animals avaiable and the temporal change in the maintainance cost and the quantity of milk production from thoese amimals over the decade. It might be a possibility that, maintaintaince cost of these amimals have increased over the past decade. As a result of which, farmers of Relannian who used to keep 20-30 animals per dairy farm have reduced their size to 2-3 animals only. Therefore, even if the number of farms might have gone up, the quanity of animals in the area have remained the same or might have even decreased. As already mentioned before, due to the high maintainence cost of these animals, the cost of the dairy products liek cream migh get increased.

Moving on to the second reason, which supports the claim of farmers inflating the price is - instead of innovative advancement in the technology of milk production, which has reduced the labour cost, the cost of cream is not reducing. But nither the author of the letter nor the data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture is presenting any information about the technological costs involved in production of milk. Moreover, there is no description at all about the technology involved in preparing the cream from the milk. There can be various other explanation to this stuations which has resulted in the increased price of the cream. Due to the obscurity of the data presented, its difficult to say, if the overall production cost has increased or decreased. Consider the situation, when people who were their in dairy farming industry a decade ago are moving to secondary or tertiary sector for job opportunities which has reduced the workforce in dairy farming. Under this circumstance, adpoting technology is the only solution which the farmers can afford. In this situation, opting for technology is not the option by-choice but a option which was forcebly adopted due to the circumstances. Or in another situation, the technology used in preparing, preserving and transporting cream has hiked from 10 dollor to 1000 dollor, in past ten years. This could also have resulted in increased price of the cream.

In sum, the facts presented to bloster the claim that farmers are incentivising themseleves by increasing the price of cream in the market, stands on a lose ground and is quite obscure in stating the facts. More elaborated delails and data is needed to support the claim and come to a conclusion, until then various explanations can be given for the presented facts which would not yield any concreate results.