Archaeologists have long thought that an artifact called the pemchint was used by Dodecan people solely as a musical instrument. Pemchints consist of hollowed pieces of bone, shell, or wood that are tied together with long straps. When whirled in the air, the pemchints create pleasant tones. Until recently, pemchints were found only at locations known to be used for Dodecan rituals and celebrations. Additionally, they were always excavated in proximity to other musical artifacts. Recently, however, a pemchint was found along with Dodecan hunters' tools located miles from the nearest known Dodecan settlement, while no other music-related objects were found in the area. Clearly, then, the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters, who most probably used the sounds to repel dangerous wildlife.

The passage here talks about an artifact called pemchint which was believed to be used as a musical instrument by Dodecan people because it was found at locations used for rituals. However this belief was changed when the archeologists had seen this artifact at a location where hunting happened.

As stated in the passage until the recent times the pemchint was found only near places where rituals happened. Just because it was found with hunter tools once doesnt mean it was used to repel animals, if it was used for hunting there would be pemchints at many places and archeologists would report several instances of pemchint at different hunter locations not at one place.

Often music is considered a stress buster. The artifact which was found may be was carried by one of the members so that they can play it while going to the jungle or while coming back from it.The jungles are generally far away from the living areas. In the journey they might feel a little bored or stressful so may be they carried it as a recreation.

Taking the the third fact into consideration where they had mentioned the use of pemchint as device to make sounds to repel dangerous animals, it wouldnt be possible to hunt if they make some sounds. At a hunting place they maintain as much as silence possible so that they do not disturb their targets. Small sounds will also alert the animals and they might run away. Even though there was a dangerous wildlife hunters will have other techniques to escape from them as it is their profession. Usage of sounds to scare the dangerous wildlife is not a reliable technique.

The reasoning could have been more cogent if they had shown instances of the artifact found in many hunter locations and stating reasons about how sounds will scare of the dangerous animals without alerting the targets they are hunting.