Archaeologists have long thought that an artifact called the pemchint was used by Dodecan people solely as a musical instrument Pemchints consist of hollowed pieces of bone shell or wood that are tied together with long straps When whirled in the air the

The author claims that the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters to expel dangerous wildlife by based on recent discoveries. This sounds interesting, however, the author relies on numerous unjustified assumtpions which cannot be taken for granted thus the author needs to answer to other possibilities which are deduced those statement.

Firstly, the author depends on the unconvinsing assumptions that the location where a pemchint was found is the same the location where it have been used. If a pemchint was found along with Dodecan hunters' tools it may not be certain evidence that shows a pemchint is used by hunters. Because there is large time gap from their usage and discovery, there are still possibilities that a pemchint is used for Dodecan rituals and celebrations and just moved to the place of hunters'. Accordingly, the author has to provide more specific information about the usage of this tool.

Secondly, the author assumes that a pemchint found recently along with Dodecan hunters' tool has been used by same people who have used a pemchint for their rituals and celebrations, however, even if it is discovered at the same place, it may not be used by other people for another purpose. Other people who have lived in that place also could have made a tool like a pemchint as a pemchint is not consist of unique ingredients, but made by hollowed pieces of bone, shell, or wood with long straps which seems to be easy to get in anywhere. Thus, the observation of discovery cannot tell everything about the users of a pemchint. To be the more reliable argument, the author needs to answer the possibilities that there are other kind of tributes who could make the tool.

Lastly, even if it is used by Dodecan hunters, there are possibilities that it could have been used for just musical instruments besides repelling dangerous wildlife. The author assumes that it might not been used for musical performance based on the report that there have been no other musical artifacts nearby the place where a pemchint was excavated. However, other musical artifacts for Dodecan rituals and celebrations might not be discovered yet or might have decayed by nature. Thus the author hardly conclusively asserts that a pemchint have been used for other purpose just by relying on discoveries until now.

In sum, the author states that a pemchint have been used for other purpose rather than used for a musical instrument, however, the author relies on inconclusive assumptions thus it cannot effectively remove alternative explanations. Thus, to be justifiable argument evidence pertaining to the accurate date and real users of a tool is necessary to evaluate this claim.