For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year however all of the five best selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin Furthermore a recent

In the above statement, the author asserts that all stores have to discontinue stocking many of their imported cheese and focus on domestic cheese for curtailing expenses by limiting inventory. While supporting the argument, however, the author relies on numerous assumptions which can not be taken for granted thus to evaluate this argument it is necessary for the author to give more information.

Firstly, the author assumes that the record of sold of last year will continue, however, this may not be true. There is no other evidence of demonstrating the selling of cheese for long-term period from all regions where they try to sell their cheeses. No one can assure that last year’s selling record will last to the future, it seems precarious to change their strategy of inventory. Moreover, the author relies on information from Wisconsin but customers of Wisconsin may not be representative of all populations of their customers all over regions.

Secondly, the author supposed that a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine is reliable, however, although the magazine did valid survey for their subscribers, nonetheless it may not directly relate to the author’s cheese business. Because the magazine conducted survey to only their subscribers who may be indulged into cheeses and have atypical preference than average customers, the result of the survey can not be parallel to interest of typical customers for their business. The assumptions that the subscribers’ taste is same as customers of their cheeses is needed to provide more evidence pertaining to respondents of the survey. Even if the survey is representative of all customers, it just showed a “recent” trend, so it may not be certain to last.

Lastly, the author presumes that inventory cost is the only factor contributing to profits, however, it may not be the case. There are several determining factors of profits such as original price of the product, cost of distribution and economical situation or else. If there imported cheeses are far lower than domestic cheese, dislocation of imported cheeses would reduce profit. Thus, the author have to consider other factors which influence cost and benefit.

In sum, the author asserts that they need to change their inventory system from current form to reducing imported cheeses storage, however, this argument relies on unjustified assumptions. To provide more convincing claim the author need to provide evidence related to representativeness of a recent report and a survey, and other contributing factors of benefits. Without this evidence, the author may not justify his or her argument.