"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo argues that to improve profits, it is the best to focus on stocking domestic cheeses but discontinue other kinds of imported cheese. To justify his remark, the manager points out that at the newest store, the most popular cheese last year was domestic cheddar cheese from Wisconsin. More information from a survey showed that more people prefer domestic cheese. The arguer has made many assumptions based on the evidence so that the conclusion obtained at the end is not cogent without further clarification.

The information of domestic cheddar cheese being the best-selling one was reported by the newest store; the manager assumes that the other stores located around the United States will have the same customer feedback. In fact, it might be only the customers at the newest store who like domestic cheddar cheese the best while the other four best-selling cheeses still maintain their popularity in other stores. If this is true, cutting the inventory of other cheeses before knowing more about the sales at other locations is the worst decision to make. It not only reduces the variety of cheeses that customers used to like about this store, but also limits the possible profit from other cheeses.

Furthermore, the survey that supported domestic cheddar cheese was gaining preference can be misleading too. Without knowing who the subscribers of the magazine are as well as the reliability of the survey, the manager perfunctorily assumes that the result from the magazine is correct and can be applied to his chain stores in the United States. It is a world-wide magazine, which means the subscribers are from everywhere. If the customers are mostly from Europe and some Asian countries, the generalization of the result to the customers in the United States will be fallacious. Americans might still like the varieties of imported cheese more than domestic cheeses. The suggestion to discontinuing the inventory of other kinds of imported cheese but concentrated on domestic cheeses will put the business in jeopardy.

As the manager wants to improve profits, lowering expenses in cheese stocking is not the best way to achieve the goal. Profits come from the sales of cheeses; therefore, increasing the revenue would be a better way to gain more profits. However, his advice is reducing the types of cheeses that the store may have been famous for, which may indirectly mitigates the expansion of business. With the focus on domestic cheeses only, customers who used to buy imported cheeses will not purchase products from the store any more. The suggestion lowers the revenue while, in fact, wasting money on storing only domestic cheeses.

In summary, profits should be gained from expanding the business, attracting more customers, not cutting expense. Assuming the newest store is a good representative of other stores in the United States, and generalizing a random survey result from an international magazine, do not warrant the conclusion. More evidence need to be provided.