Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As superficial as it may seem, high grades, in many people's opinions, means intelligence and better education in a person. However, this is a fallacious understanding in our society's values. Only fighting for high grades but forgetting the pursuit of truth and wisdom is meaningless; it merely increases unnecessary competitions and hurts cooperation and friendship.

High grades, or even high academic performance, do not indicate that a student is smarter and more talented than other with lower grades. In fact, it only means that those students spend more time on studying what is required at school while the others might be stronger in other areas. In many Asian countries, China and Japan, for example, their grading systems only focuses on study of their own language, mathematics, and science. Other subjects like arts and music, even physical education, are only considered extra curricular classes. Students with interests in those areas may be condemned and forced to study what they are supposed to, the majors that can give them high grades. In terms of diversity in education, competition for high grades definitely destroy the purpose of learning in all levels.

Furthermore, the environment, including teachers, parents, and peers, will also highly influence the mental states of students who are in such an education system. As they are aiming for high academic performance, some students are more complacent after scoring an "A," because teachers will acclaim their academic excellence and parents will praise them with money awards. On the contrary, others with a "B" will be looked down upon, or even feel like they are the disgrace of their family. In this case, the higher achievers will have high self-esteem while those on the lower end of the curve may further lose their interest in studying.

Indeed, the grading system is not all that bad. In some cases, such as math contests or the Olympics, where people are looking for the most eminent person in a certain area, such rigorous competition is required in order to differentiate candidates. In the event of Olympics, the human beings are competing to represent the best of our kind, proving that we can be better in physical strength and endurance. Similarly, the math contests are to find the most talented mathematician who may further push for another revolution in the human history. However, in education at all levels such system is inapplicable and not healthy.

In summary, the competition for higher academic performance in certain studies is not necessary. In fact, it hurts the further expansion of students' interests in other fields that are not the requirements in the system. In addition, it also brings negative influence into students' mental health, resulting in a reverse effect in learning. The best use of such competition is at certain contests where people are willing to accept the pressure from competing against each other, striving for the best deserved one.