The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream—a dairy product made from milk—at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

The letter indicates that inflation in carton milk is an apparent price manipulation by farmers to make more profits. he defends his notion by arguing that efficiency is increased and labour costs are lower than they were ten years ago. Although the scenario is argumentative at first glance, further investigation and pursuing situations shows some apparent flaws.

it is mentioned that analysts reported that the number of dairy farms in Relanna increased by 25 percent over the last decade. The author supposes that the population of the area was stable during these years. he fails to explain the milk production ratio in comparison with the population growth. If the population doubled in the same period, then the diary products are lower compared to the past. Since the price is determined by demand-supply law, when the demand is higher than the supply, then the price will rise. Hence, while there is no precise data about the number of people, the price rise may be reasonable.

The writing explains the advances in the product line and the technology adopted to reduce human intervention. The outcome of this decision is lower labour costs. The writer fails to explain whether there are any other additional costs or not. Utilizing new technology needs investment and maybe higher standards that leads to more costs but a product with more top quality. The size, weight, packing, quality, etc. are neglected, and no further data is given in the text. In this regard, we need to glean more evidence about the final products in both periods.

At last, the passage points out that a carton of cream costs twice as much as it did two years ago at the local market. The text does not provide clear evidence and valid data to declare that the local market salesmen do not play a role in the price rise. One possible idea is that they decided to double their profit, and it is a factor for the price increase.

All in all, the letter explains a situation in which the price of diary increased while technology helps the industry to produce more efficient with the labour cost. then concludes that the price increase is up to the farmers' greed to gain more profit. I assert that the text needs to add more data to be more valuable and plausible. while the population growth, changes in product characteristics and the intentions of the local market salesmen are not considered, it is irrational to make a swift conclusion and find the farmers as the problem root.