The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage states that a shift in news policy in a television station resulted in a more complaints from viewers and reluctancy of local businesses to have advertising contracts. then it suggests that everything should restore to its previous state in order to attract more viewers and stop losing advertising revenues. While the notion seems plausible at first glance, further investigations and pursuing the situations reveal apparent flaws in the argument.

first, the author fails to explain the growth ratio of complaints and the content of the them. he claims that most of complaints were concerned with the weather and local news and does not bring any evidence that whether the total complaints are increased or decreased compared to the previous situations. if the overall complaints drop from 1000 to 100, then we need to have more data to analysis them. Some may refer this reduction from 1000 to 100 complaints as an achievement of the new policy and ignore the proportion of the complaints topics. Moreover, he did not offer any evidences to corroborate his claim that the change in program content is the main complaining point of the audience. it is possible that in the past, weather and local news were broadcasted in several parts of the day, but they are reduced in other programs in addition to the late-night program. Therefore, the complaints refer to the reduction of the weather and local news in television station timetable and not this specific program.

Plus, the passage points pout that the local businesses canceled their contracts with them. we need to glean more evidences about the other advertising contracts. When we have a shift from local news to a national news, it is possible that national businesses commence their advertising to rise their market share in new market which were previously dominated by local businesses. Hence, the writing should provide more valid data ro declare that a reduction in local businesses advertising has led to a total reduction. if national businesses started to advertise in the program then revenues should be increased since there is a competition between local and national businesses. it also may be possible that local businesses could not compete the national ones and prefer to change their policies and find cheaper ways to attract their customers like using fliers and local newspapers.

All in all, the argument fails to answer many vital questions and does not give sufficient data to provide enough data to be proved and warranted.